The Grand Opening of my August Glossy Box


When I arrived home from my Benefit Recruitment Event adventure yesterday my August Glossy Box was waiting for me. I resisted opening it though because I wanted to share the experience with you. So here is my first impressions review.

The packaging was lovely as always. However in comparison to the Boudoir Prive Box there was no glossy product information leaflet or handwritten card.

My first impressions of the all important contents:

MURAD – Time Release Blemish Cleanser

Good sized 30ml Sample, like the packaging and it’s pleasant smelling will let you know if it lives up to it’s claims of reducing ‘blemishes while diminishing wrinkles’. There is also a generous 33% discount for Glossy Box subscribers.

Being a lazy girl I usually use wipes to cleanse my favourites are: age defiance wipes 2 for a £1. I’m going to swap my wipes for the cleanser until it runs out then review.

AHAVA – Mineral Body Lotion

Another generous sample, 40mls, classy packaging. Highly perfumed but not over powering I like the scent it has a luxurious, expensive fragrance. I rubbed a small amount into the back of my hand, it absorbed quickly and left it feeling smooth, not greasy. 10% discount for Glossy Box Subscribers.

Being a lazy girl I am not a fan of body lotions, I prefer oils including Bio Oil and Weleda. I just put a few drops in my daily bath and get moisturized without getting my hands sticky. I will test this out though but it’s in a queue with the OLAIVE product from my August Boudoir Prive.

DANIEL SANDLER – Baby Jet Mascara

Full-Size 4.5 ml sample, simple and effective packaging. 10% discount for Glossy Box subscribers. Going to try it out immediately! be back in a mini mo…

… the brush is indeed ideal for reaching very short lashes around the inner and outer corners of the eyes. However my application experience was unfortunately tainted by a blob of mascara. I am going to use this properly later today when I get made up for my Benefit interview. Although I am thinking of using it in combination with another mascara.

KMS CALIFORNIA – Hairstay, style boost

200ml, 200ml! Who says size doesn’t matter. Is it wrong that I’m already impressed with this product, because it’s big? Need to trial this too.

No discount for Glossy Box subscribers.

REBEL NAILS – Nail Wraps

Like the idea and pleased I got them for fingernails, but not so keen on the design included in my box, debating whether to try or swap on my facebook page Beauty Box Swaps. 15% discount for Glossy Box Subscribers.

So first impressions of my August Glossy Box are largely positive. The box does contain four products I don’t normally use: Body Lotion, Cleanser, Hair Primer and Nail Wraps but I’m not complaining Subscription Beauty Boxes offer an opportunity to try products we wouldn’t necessarily choose for ourselves. In all fairness I am not wowed by my box, other than the generous product sizes, but I am pleased with it. Thank-you Glossy Box.

August 19, 2011. Tags: , , , . adventures, beauty, make-up.

5 Comments

  1. The Grand Opening of my October Glossy Box « The Adventures of Lucy Brown replied:

    […] Now I’ve realised this is a face wash I’m looking forward to trying it. Although I still love my Age Defiance Wipes. I have been a little converted to actually washing my face by the Murad Cleanser from the August Glossy Box. […]

  2. The Grand Opening of my October Carmine Box « The Adventures of Lucy Brown replied:

    […] to testing it out. Yes I know I am a lazy face wipe kinda girl but the Murad cleanser from the August Glossy Box may have slightly converted me to a bit of face washing using *shock horror* water. I’ve […]

  3. Lucy Loves: Sachajuan Conditioner « The Adventures of Lucy Brown replied:

    […] As I wait patiently for my September Boudoir Prive box to arrive I thought you might like to hear more about my very favourite product from their August box. […]

  4. Lucy Loves: pure age defiance wipes « The Adventures of Lucy Brown replied:

    […] may recall I referred to these wipes in my first impressions review of the August Glossy […]

  5. emily replied:

    hey! your review is so detailed, i really liked the mascara 😀
    if you find you dont like the hairstay (a lot of people are finding it dead weird and hard to use!) i received the heat protect and shine creme in my box, which i already have. id be more than willing to do a swap! 🙂

    xxx

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

